Return to Headlines

Fifty-six retirees recognized; 2020 and 2021 retirement reception held

Photo galleries and links are at the bottom of the page.

Alexander County administration and school board members recognized 56 school system employees as they retired from the school system with a reception and award presentation on Tuesday, June 8.  The recognition included retirees from the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years.

Due to COVID restrictions last June, a reception for our 2019-2020 retirees was postponed. Recent changes to the pandemic guidelines allowed for a combined celebration. A reception was held at Alexander Central High School cafeteria prior to the school board meeting. Each retiree received a plaque presented by a school board member at the honors and recognition portion of the school board meeting.


019-2020 Retirees

Alexander Central High School 

Darrell R. Adkins, Business Teacher, 1996-2020

Scotty P. Miller, CTE Business Teacher, 2016-2020


Student Success Center 

Annette L. Wiley-Picard, Teacher, 2018-2020


Bethlehem Elementary School  

Jane Bolick, Nutrition Assistant, 1994-1996 & 1999-2020

Jennifer S. Conner, Nutrition Assistant, 1998-2002 & 2004-2020

Deborah I. Crowder, Permanent Substitute, 2001-2009 & 2009-2020

Debra B. Jolly, Teacher Assistant, 1999-2009 & 2009-2019


East Alexander Middle School 

Sharon G. Howell, Nutrition Assistant, 2001-2002 & 2002-2019

Samuel D. Pinnix, Custodian, 2000-2019

Janice C. Tester, Permanent Substitute, 1989-1992 / 2003-2004 / 2007-2020


Ellendale Elementary School  

Kari I. Harrington, Teacher, 2002-2015 & 2019-2020

Sheila S. Pennell, Nutrition Assistant, 1993-2020

Amy H. Sipe, Music Teacher, 1992-2020


Hiddenite Elementary School  

Susan K. Gwaltney, Teacher Assistant, 1989-2020

Susan W. Lackey, Nutrition Assistant, 2010-2020


Stony Point Elementary School  

Sharon B. Alexander, Teacher, 2000-2020

Marilyn L. Angle, Teacher, 2004-2020

Angela R. Lail, Custodian, 1988-1989 & 1999-2019

Cynthia Rector, EC Teacher Assistant, 1997-1998 & 2001-2020


Sugar Loaf Elementary School  

Karen M. Loudermelk, Teacher Assistant, 2000-2016 & 2019-2020

Tracy E. Sigmon, Teacher Assistant, 1996-2019

Tammy B. Watts, Teacher, 1990-2001 & 2002-2020


Taylorsville Elementary School  

William C. Miller, PE Teacher, 1988-2019

Susan C. Watts, Teacher Assistant, 1995-2020


West Alexander Middle School 

Arnold Cogswell Jr., Social Studies Teacher, 2004 - 2019

Kathy A. Rector, EC Teacher Assistant, 1999-2020


Wittenburg Elementary School 

Susan W. Winkler, Nutrition Assistant, 2010-2020


Transportation Department 

Conrad L. Millsaps, Transportation, 1994-2003 & 2004-2020

Deidria D. Watts, Transportation Assistant, 1999-2019


2020-2021 Retirees of the Alexander County Schools

 Alexander Central High School  

Jonathan B. Gailes, Science Teacher, 2016-2020

Susan S. Gantt, CTE Director, 1991-2021

Kimberly L. Howell, Teacher, 1997-2001 & 2014-2021

Dennis S. Jones, EC Teacher, 1989-1992 & 2003-2020

Garry L. Stafford, Band Director, 1979-2003 & 2012-2020


Student Success Center 

Dr. Lisa D. Harrington, Coordinator, 1994-2009 & 2014-2020

Elizabeth A. Herman, Teacher, 1999-2020

James A. Mayes, Teacher, 2017-2021


Bethlehem Elementary School  

Teresa K. Parsons, BASC Site Coordinator, 1994-1996 & 1996-2021

Jennifer D. Patterson, Teacher, 1992-2021

Debbie O. Teague, Teacher Assistant, 1993-1996 & 1996-2020


East Alexander Middle School  

Caroline R. Bebber, Secretary, 1999-2021

Linda C. Chapman, Educational Interpreter, 2009-2021

Karen M. Millsaps, Custodian, 1991-2020

Teresa B. Riddle, Teacher, 1998-2021


Ellendale Elementary School

Jennifer P. Mull, Teacher, 1979-2014 & 2017-2021


Hiddenite Elementary School  

Debra G. Beckham, Teacher Assistant, 1996-2000 & 2000-2021

Dolores A. Fox, Teacher, 2017-2021

Tammy B. Marlowe, Teacher, 2006-2021


Stony Point Elementary School 

Christopher L. Hefner, Teacher, 1993-2021

Tracye M. Vanstory, Teacher, 1989-2021


Sugar Loaf Elementary School  

Cary B. Cash, Principal, 1989-2021

Rejena F. Shook, Nutrition Assistant, 1993-2021


Taylorsville Elementary School  

Melony D. Brown, Receptionist, 2007-2021


West Alexander Middle School  
Trina B. Coffey, Nutrition Assistant, 2001-2003 & 2018-2021

Maintenance Department 

 Larry F. Bumgarner, Plumber, 1986-1990 & 2001-2020


Central Office 

Tracy G. Russell, PowerSchool Coord. & HR Assist, 1992-1993 & 1994-2020

Check out our photo galleries at this link.

Plaque Presentation Photos

Reception and fun photos


You can watch the full presentation during the June school board meeting on our YouTube channel at the link - The retirement recognitions begin at 8:52 (min:sec).