Return to Headlines

Sugar Loaf Elementary Wins Battle of the Books

Sugar Loaf Elementary Wins Elementary School Battle of the Books

The Alexander County Elementary School Battle of the Books was held Wednesday, March 4, at the former Head Start facility, where Sugar Loaf Elementary School emerged as the winner.

          The Sugar Loaf team included

  • Millie Bumgarner
  • Ada Ferguson
  • Laurel Mitchell
  • Cheyanne Keller
  • Delilah Jammes
  • Harley Mitchell
  • Madalyn Howell
  • Mary-Catherine Mikeal
  •  Lilly Zirkle
  • Kira Rufty
  • Harper Buff
  • Eli Harrington
  • Colby Pardue
  • Reed White
  • Carslyn Peterson
  • Hannah Chapman 

Teachers Natalie Millsaps, Lauren Moses, and Brooke Wike served as the team’s coaches.

The purpose of the Battle of the Books program is to encourage reading by all students at the elementary and middle school levels. Students, regardless of ability, are exposed to quality literature representing a variety of literary styles and viewpoints by prominent authors in the area of young adult literature. The game format creates interest and excitement in reading. Through the fun and excitement of the competition, students improve reading skills, mature in their choices of reading materials, and acquire a broader knowledge base.

 Bethlehem Elementary Team

Tristan Dunn
Joseph Evans
Abigail Haas
Addison Hedrick
Nate Hedrick
Samuel James
Addison Parlier
Weston Wdowiak
Makayla Wilson
Victoria Braswell, Coach


Hiddenite Elementary Team

Malachi Bennett
Charlene Carico
Shelby Dula
Luke Gilreath
Raeghan Keever
Joy Patterson
Lyla Ruiz
Allyson Turner
Ben White
Trudy Goforth and Jenna Buff

Ellendale Elementary Team

Jonah Branch
Ali Lewis
Ori Pennell
Weston Palmer
Rylee Robinson
Ava Head
Keaton Jenkins
Elijah Anderson
Charles Stevenson
Levi Hrin
Makayla Roland
Titus Hefner
Coaches: Erin Lewis & Heidi Hefner

Stony Point Elementary Team

Jude Lackey
Owen Patterson
Keelie Davidson
Kayleigh Brown
Jaimee Teague
Floricela Norman
Ellie Miller
Yessica Ixchop
Addison Davidson
Lauren Deal, Coach
Jordan Hefner, Coach

Taylorsville Elementary Team

Elijah Weavil
Aiden Guthrie
Emery Miller
Haven Speaks
Asia Jackson
Jovani Martinez
Jubilee Myers
Sarah Barnes
Kaydence Torres
Kurtis Burroughs
Clara Puckett
Jennifer Muscarelli & Kelsey Ferrell coaches
Karen Martin attending

Wittenburg Elementary Team

Keira Arguelles
Zane Mawyer
Brooklyn Young
Ryder Byrd
Macyn King
Amea Weldon
Scott Bowman, Coach
Kelsey Bowman, Coach
Mary Gurhtrie, Coach