Skip To Main Content

General Information

About Us

Nighttime of Alexander Central High School stadium from overhead

District Overview

Alexander County Schools serves nearly 4,450 students from preschool through 12th grade with the option of an early college for secondary students. The district operates 11 schools and an alternative learning center.

Dr. Jennifer Hefner was appointed superintendent in 2014 and started her career with Alexander County Schools as a bus driver/teacher assistant. The district is governed by a seven member board of education with members who serve four-year terms. Voters elect board members based on the district where the voter lives.

School Hours


 Visitors by appointment only.

The Board of Education Office is open 8:00 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday.  Please check the school calendar for holiday closings and summer hours.  In the event of inclement weather, delayed school openings and school closings will be posted under the Emergency Alert link on the homepage.

Alexander County Board of Education

(Please click the link above for the BOE membership, agendas and minutes)

The Alexander County Schools Board of Education meets at 6pm the second Tuesday of each month at 700 Liledoun Road Taylorsville, NC 28681. The board is made of seven members elected by district. 


Our Schools

Picture of Elementary Schools
Picture of Secondary Schools