• School Hours:
    8:15 am - 3:25 pm

    Doors open at 7:45 am for breakfast

    Office Hours:
    7:30 am - 4:00 pm



Upcoming Events

  • There are no upcoming events to display.

View Calendar

Follow Us on Facebook

District Newsroom

  • The Alexander County School System is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.  If you have questions or concerns regarding the accessibility of the website or if you are unable to access a page or document on the website, you may contact the Communications Department via email at rmeade@alexander.k12.nc.us or by phone at 828-632-7001.

    Comments (-1)
  • Leadership Information



    Wittenburg School Improvement Plan


    Kindergarten Representative: Mary Guthrie
    First Grade Representative:    Amy Fox
    Second Grade Representative: Meggan Eckard
    Third Grade Representative: Carol Walker
    Fourth Grade Representative: Zach Richardson
    Fifth Grade Representative: Dakota Brown

    TA Representatives: Michelle Bowman
    Specials Representative: Alisha Orren
    EC Representative: Tammy Abernathy

    Parent Representatives: Leah Hayes
    Additional: Mary Brown Principal, Melinda Glenn Instructional Coach

    Meeting Dates:

    September 1

    Oct. 6

    Nov 3

    Dec 1

    Jan 5

    Feb 2

    March 2

    April 13

    May 4



    Comments (-1)

Wittenburg Newsletter

  • Wittenburg Newsletter 

    October 2020

    828 632-2395


    Dear Parents, I am so impressed with how well the students and staff have followed the social distancing and mask requirements. They are doing a great job! There will be a decision soon on how to return our kinders through 5th graders to school. Thank you for your grace and patience as we all work hard to ensure a safe and healthy education for all of our students.  Mrs. Brown

    Reading: October is a terrific time to read some stories with children on the changing seasons, pumpkins and Halloween. Kids love spending time with their parents reading. Let children select some books so they are engaged with the topic. Ask kids what they think the book will be about. As you read, see if their predictions came true. Talk about the pictures, the characters and what happened? Was the ending a good one? After reading, ask children their opinions. See if they can support their opinions from some specifics in the book. Most importantly, enjoy your time together. 

    Wit & Wisdom: The books are in and they are great! Wit and Wisdom is a reading program we are starting with grades 3rd through 5th to work on comprehension, reading enjoyment, strategic reading and writing skills. 

    Math: What a great time of year to work on math by baking an apple pie together with your children or even counting candy corn. Think about making a geometry pumpkin with lots of shapes and angels.

    Online Auction: We will have the auction up on FB Oct. 19th-30th. Please donate or call a business to donate something for the auction. 

    Chick-Fil-A: will be available on Oct. 30th for pick-up from 4:30-6:30. Forms will be sent home.

    Basket Raffle: K/1 hall will have a holiday basket. The 2nd/3rd hall will have a sports basket and the 4th/5th hall will have a home good basket. Please donate items if possible for the baskets. Raffle tickets will be $1 and available through the office or in the car-riders line.

    Pumpkin Contest in School: Bring those pumpkins in starting Oct. 19th  through Oct. 30th. We will display them in the media center and students will vote on their favorites the last week of October. Pumpkins can be real or fake. Please do not cut the real ones as they may not make it to Oct. 30th. This is a fun family activity. 

    Pumpkin Patch Drive Thru: Friday, Oct. 30th from 4:30-6:30. Families can drive through the parking lot and see the pumpkins the students decorated. Families can vote for their favorite pumpkins by putting money in the container by their favorite pumpkins. 

    WES Staff Costume Contest: All staff will be dressed in group themes by grade level and job during the Pumpkin Patch Drive Thru. Please vote for your favorite ensemble.

    Book Fair: October 19th through Oct. 30th online for all WES students virtual and in person. Orders will be delivered to homes.

    Grade Level Zooms: Each grade level will host a zoom on Monday, Oct. 19th from 5:30-6:30. Please attend the zooms to find out educational goals for your children for this year. Zooms will be recorded for parents who can not attend.

    Conferences: Teachers will be contacting parents for zoom conferences. All children should have a conference this fall. Please contact your child’s teacher if you have any questions.

    Title 1 Survey: WES is a Title 1 school bc of the percentage of students who are on free or reduced lunch. We receive funding based on that percentage. Parent engagement is very important at all schools and especially Title 1 schools. A parent survey will be shared on the WES website and FB page later in Oct. Please complete the survey by the end of Oct.